Remove a Child or Parent

Applies to: Insights and Premium Members

Parent's app: iOS or Android

Article type: Optional steps

Remove a Family Member

Parents may want to remove a Child from their Connect App, because the Child has grown up and left home. Or, a caregiver may no longer need to monitor a Child's web content.

On a Parent's phone or tablet:

Child Family Member

In this example, a nephew named Paul spent the summer with his cousins. He's gone back home for the school year and you want to remove his User information from the Family.

  1. In Family, tap on the Child's icon 
  2. Tap Edit 
  3. Go to the bottom of their USER PROFILE
  4. Tap REMOVE FROM FAMILY 
  5. At the confirmation, tap Yes
  6. The Connect App returns you to the Family screen
    Not the Child's icon has been removed


Parent Family Member

In this example, a caregiver is no longer working with the Family. You no longer want this User to have Parent access to your Family's web content monitoring.  

Before You Start

Only the Primary Parent (the first Parent to set up the Family Zone account) can remove Parent Users.


  1. In Family, tap Parents 
  2. Tap the Parent's or caregiver's name 
  3. Tap Edit 
  4. Tap Remove from family 
  5. At the Remove? confirmation, tap YES 
  6. Tap the ← back arrow to return to the Family screen


What is a Parent Versus a Shared Parent?

A Parent is a guardian in the home who is allowed to change the monitoring and edit Family details. A Shared Parent is a guardian or other parent with a separate Family Zone account with different monitoring rules for a Child's activity. 

A Parent or Shared Parent can be used for any guardian such as grandparents or babysitters.

The Parent access is added or removed using the Family menu. The first parent (Primary Parent) adds Shared Parents through the Family section. The Shared Parent name and email is added to a Child's details.