Red Alert: Location permissions have not been granted

Applies to: Insights and Premium Members with Location tracking turned on Apple iOS or Android phones and tablets. Also applies to Apple iOS devices where Filter Only is used.

Why did I get this alert?

Family Zone will send you this Alert if your child disables location permission from their iPhone or Android phone or laptop. You will only receive this Alert if you’ve turned the Location feature on your child's Apple or Android laptop or tablet, or if Family Zone is installed in Filter Only mode on your child’s Apple device.

Why do I still have the alert/alarm when I have the permission set to allow “when using the app”?

Family Zone needs to have access to the devices location when your child isn’t using the app to allow us to show you where they are.

What do I need to do when I get this alert?

  1. Grab your child's laptop or phone
  2. Open the Family Zone app
  3. Click the red banner at the top
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions

Can I fix the location permission remotely?

No. You must have physical access to the device.  However your child should be able to follow these instructions to fix it.

What is Apple Filter Only mode?

Filter Only mode allows us to work with Schools that have a policy of controlling your child's device while they are at school, or who have given your child a device for school use.

Can I stop my child turning off location?

Yes, on Apple iOS devices you can use restrictions to lock changes to location services.

Will this impact my child’s ability to change the location permissions for all apps?

Yes, your child will be unable to change the location permissions of any app they install or have already installed.

Why can't I accept location permissions on my Apple iOS device?

You might have locked the location restrictions using Apple’s restrictions, you’ll need to turn these off.

I received the notification but I can’t see a To do in my account. Why?

This likely means either:

  • The issue has been resolved and we’ve detected Family Zone has been reinstalled, or
  • The Family Zone service has been cancelled through your online account, or
  • Another user with parent access has closed the To do.

 If you are at all concerned, you should check the device.