Troubleshooting Prevent Tampering on iOS Devices

Applies to: Insights and Premium Members

Child's device: Apple iPad or iPhone

Prevent Tampering with the Connect App

A Parent will receive a To do and Red Alert when a Child tampers with the Connect App. This tampering does not completely turn off Family Zone monitoring, but limits the Connect App. Recent security updates from Apple also prevent the removal of the cyber safety monitoring.

Resolve the issue on your Child's iOS device using the following steps.

First, Verify the Most Recent iOS and Connect App is Running

  1. Verify the most recent of the Apple iOS is installed on your Child's Device
    See support.apple.com/en-au/HT204204
  2. In iOS Settings > App Store > App Updates, verify automatic updates are turned on.
    See, support.apple.com/en-au/HT202180

Next, Update iOS 14 and iOS 15 Protection

Updates from Apple in iOS 14 and iOS 15 allow the Connect App to be locked onto your Child's Device until a Parent deactivates Connect. This update prevents your Child from removing any part of the Connect App without a Parent's authorization.

Applies to: Insights and Premium Members

Child's devices: iOS 14 and newer iPhones or iPads

Excludes: iOS Devices with Filter-only (School Mobile Device Management)

We're excited to let you know about two new features for families with iOS devices using iOS14+, to keep your kids even safer online. 

  • Children can no longer delete the Connect app from their device
  • We've removed the ability for children to turn off filtering

To enable these new features, Parents need to update the Connect App by following the steps below.

Before you start

  • Have your Parent PIN, email and password ready
  • Have the Passcode for your Child's iPhone or iPad
  • Your Child’s iPhone or iPad is connected to WiFi 


Deactivate the Connect App

On your Child’s iPhone or iPad:

  1. Open the Connect App and tap the gear icon 
  2. Enter your 4-digit Parent PIN 
  3. Tap DEACTIVATE 
  4. Tap OK

The Connect App will return you to the Sign in screen. 

If you cannot find the Connect App on your Child’s Device, see: 


Reactivate the Connect App

  1. SIGN IN with your Parent email and password
  2. Tap CHILD 
  3. Tap on your Child's name 
  4. Tap NEXT 
  5. Tap DOWNLOAD PROFILE 
  6. Tap Allow
  7. Tap Close 

Install the Connect Profile 

  1. Go to iOS Settings and tap Profile Downloaded 
  2. Tap Install 
  3. Enter the passcode for this iPhone or iPad 
  4. Tap Next 
  5. Tap Install 
  6. Tap Trust
  7. Wait 5-10 seconds for the Device to sync
    Tap Manage 

Turn Location Tracking On

  1. Tap the Connect App notification
  2. Tap DONE
  3. At Location, tap ALLOW  
  4. Return the phone to your Child when their name is displayed

If you receive a "Red alert: Device management removed" in your Parent's Connect App, Ignore the To Do. This notification is sent when you Deactivate the Connect App.

Clear the Red Alert on your Parent phone or tablet. See:

Or, Restart to Re-enable iOS 13 Protection

Applies to: Insights and Premium Members

Child's devices: iOS 13 (2019) iPhones and iPads

Excludes: iOS 14 (2020) and iOS 15 (2021) iPhones and iPad

  1. Turn off your Child's iPhone or iPad
  2. Turn the iOS Device back on

Any active connections are closed at shut down. The most recent version of the iOS App will automatically restart the monitoring of your Child's web content after the restart. The monitoring will restart itself if your Child tries to turn it off.