Change the Shared Parent Monitoring a Child in the iOS App

Applies to: Insights and Premium Members using an iOS device

Article type: Advanced steps 

Managing a Child with Shared Parenting

A Shared Parent is another adult in a different home with their own Family Zone account. When this child returns to Shared Parent's home, that Parent uses these steps to manage the Child's monitoring.

On the primary Parent's iPhone or iPad:

  1. Sign into to the Family Zone app as a Parent
  2. In Family, tap on the Managed by  ... status
  3. Tap TAKE BACK CONTROL

In this example, the other Parent has a Premium Membership and sees the Routine - Play, Study, School or Sleep would be displayed in the status. An Insights Member only sees the status of Active. 


What is a Parent Versus a Shared Parent?

A Parent is a guardian in the home who is allowed to change the monitoring and edit Family details. A Shared Parent is a guardian or other parent with a separate Family Zone account with different monitoring rules for a Child's activity. 

A Parent or Shared Parent can be used for any guardian such as grandparents or babysitters.

The Parent access is added or removed using the Family menu. The first parent (Primary Parent) adds Shared Parents through the Family section. The Shared Parent name and email is added to a Child's details.