Cancel a Shared Parenting Invitation in the iOS App

Applies to: Premium Members 

Parent app: Apple iOS 

Article type: Advanced options

Cancel a Shared Parent Invitation

The Primary Parent who invited another Parent or caregiver can cancel the invitation if the other Parent has not responded to it. If the other Parent accepted the invitation, see How to Remove a Shared Parent in the iOS App?.

On an iPhone or iPad:

  1. Sign into the Family Zone app as a Parent
  2. In Family, tap your Child's name
  3. In the upper-right, tap Edit
  4. Move down to SHARED PARENTING
    If you see (Pending), the other Parent has not Accepted or Rejected the invite
  5. Switch to Safari or a web browser
  6. Go to portal.familyzone.com
  7. Sign in with your email and password, Facebook or Google
  8. Tap the right-arrow to get to your Child
    Tap your Child's icon
  9. Tap Settings
  10. Move down to SHARED PARENTING
  11. Tap Cancel
    The other Parent's email is removed
    Close the web browser

The other Parent will not be able to use the old invitation. You can add the other Parent again at any time in the future.

If the Parent has accepted the invitation, see How to Remove a Shared Parent in the iOS App?


What is a Parent Versus a Shared Parent?

A Parent is a guardian in the home who is allowed to change the monitoring and edit Family details. A Shared Parent is a guardian or other parent with a separate Family Zone account with different monitoring rules for a Child's activity. 

A Parent or Shared Parent can be used for any guardian such as grandparents or babysitters.

The Parent access is added or removed using the Family menu. The first parent (Primary Parent) adds Shared Parents through the Family section. The Shared Parent name and email is added to a Child's details.